HomeNews Briefs

New Office Bearers of The Textile Association Of India (Mumbai Unit) for the term 2021-2023

New Office Bearers of TAI Mumbai Unit

The 70th Annual General Body Meeting was held on 1st October 2021, at the Office of TAI, Mumbai Unit and was attended by members in large numbers.

Mr. Rajiv Ranjan (Former Executive Director & CEO, Hindoostan Mills Ltd. (Thackersey Group)) has been unanimously elected as President and Mr. Vikas Sharan (Director – India Operations, Saurer Textile Solutions Pvt. Ltd.) has been unanimously re-elected as Vice President of The Textile Association (India), Mumbai Unit, for the term 2021-2023.

Mr. Rajiv Ranjan is a senior professional and a strategic business leader with 40+ years of multi-domain, cross-functional experience in the textile industry in India. This includes extensive exposure to a gamut of areas with an overall P & L responsibility of businesses across the tenure.

In his last major industry assignments as Executive Director & CEO at Hindoostan Mills Ltd. (Thackersey Group), Mumbai, and earlier as President (Textiles) at Mafatlal Industries Ltd., Mumbai, he successfully led the businesses by enabling leadership, business and people transformation. He proved his competence in setting up Greenfield projects & turning around operations while scaling them up into sustainable & profitable businesses.

Mr. Vikas Sharan has had a distinguished career in the textile machinery and machine tools industry spanning more than twenty nine years in India and abroad. He holds a Diploma in Textile Manufactures from DKTE Society’s Textile & Engineering Institute, Ichalkaranji, Bachelor’s Degree in Textile Technology from Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute (VJTI), Mumbai, along with a Post Graduate Diploma in Business Management (PGDBM) from Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies (NMIMS), Mumbai.

Mr. Sharan currently heads Saurer Textile Solutions Pvt. Ltd. as Director – India Operations. He is a sitting member on the Board of Saurer India, as a Whole Time Director.

Apart from the above, Mr. Sharan is attached to the following associations:

1. Textile Machinery Manufacturers’ Association (TMMA) (India) – Executive Council Member.
2. Invited member on Board of Studies (BoS) of Textile Manufactures Department at VJTI since 2018.
3. Lifetime member of VJTI Alumni Association (VAA).

The other facets of Mr. Sharan include a keen interest in sports, music, travelling and photography.

The first meeting of the Managing Committee & Governing Council members was held on 29th October 2021 where Shri Rajiv Ranjan chaired the meeting. The following members were elected as Office Bearers for the term 2021-2023.

  • President Emeritus : Mr. C. Bose
  • Chairman : Mr. V. C. Gupte
  • Vice Chairman : Dr. G. S. Nadiger
  • Vice Chairman : Mr. R. R. Patil
  • Hon. Secretary : Mr. A. V. Mantri
  • Jt. Hon. Secretary : Mr. R. R. Mehta
  • Jt. Hon. Secretary : Mr. A. K. Narkar
  • Hon. Treasurer : Prof. K. D. Gawand

The Textile Association (India), Mumbai Unit
(Registered under Bombay Public Trust Act 1950)
602, Santosh Apartment, 6th Floor, Plot No. 72-A, Dr. M. B. Raut Road,
Shivaji Park, Dadar (W), Mumbai – 400 028 T: 9324904271
E-mail: [email protected] Website: www.textileassociationindia.com

Share This